Sign up & get $1 to try select services free
Does Facebook Notify Someone When You Save Their Photo?
|
November 22nd, 2023 by Terri Pinyerd

Good news - Facebook does not notify the poster when you save a photo uploaded by someone else - either by screenshot or through the download feature.

 

Today we'll walk you through how to save a photo posted on Facebook, plus quick tips on adjusting privacy settings for your own Facebook photos and future posts.

 

What Does Facebook Notify Users About?

 

facebook notification on mobile app

 

While Facebook doesn't notify someone when you save a photo, there are a few other interactions that do trigger notifications.

 

Here's what you need to know:

 

Users Will Receive A Notification When You...

 

  • Like a photo

  • Comment on a post

  • Tag someone

 

Users Won't Receive A Notification When You...

 

  • View their profile

  • Click on their photo without liking or commenting

  • Save a photo or screenshot it

 

Download FB Photos On Desktop

 

To save photos posted by other users on facebook.com, open the photo of your choice and click the three dots on the top right corner.

 

facebook desktop photo menu

 

From here, click Download.

 

facebook desktop download photo

 

That's it!

 

Download FB Photos On Mobile

 

To download another user's photo on Facebook mobile, tap the image to open the full page.

 

facebook mobile menu

 

From here, tap the three dots on the top right to open the drop down menu.

 

Tap Save photo.

 

facebook photo save photo mobile

 

How To Adjust Your Facebook Privacy Settings

 

If you don't want other users to have the ability to download your photos from past or future posts, you'll have to adjust your photo privacy settings.

 

While there's no way to prevent users from downloading your content, you can choose who has the ability to view your photos and albums.

 

On Mobile

 

  • Visit your profile page and scroll down until you see the Photos section.
  • Tap the Uploads tab to access all photos and albums that you've uploaded.
  • Open the photo or album and tap the three dots on the top right.
  • Tap Edit Privacy.
  • Select your privacy option.

 

On Desktop

 

  • Click your profile picture to access your profile, then click the Photos tab beneath your cover photo.
  • Click Albums, then click the album you want to adjust settings for.
  • On the top right, click the three dots, then Edit Album.
  • Click the current audience, then select your new audience and click Save.

 

What To Do If Someone Has Stolen Your Photos

 

If you discover stolen photos taken from your Facebook profile posted online, you will have to first contact the publisher of the content by following the Google Images support steps here.

 

If you've found the stolen photos within the Facebook platform, you can report the image directly via desktop or mobile.

 

On Desktop

 

Open the full photo page and click the three dots on the right hand corner.

 

facebook photo menu

 

Click Report Photo.

 

facebook report photo mobile

 

Follow the on-screen steps.

 

On Mobile

 

Open the full photo page and tap the three dots on the top right corner.

 

facebook mobile menu

 

Tap Report Photo

 

facebook photo report mobile

 

Follow the on-screen steps.

Live Chat

QQTube AI Chat Bot

Have a question or issue? Just ask below!

Want $1 Free?
Sign Up to get $1 to increase your social media followers, likes, views, subscribers & more!
By signing up, you agree to QQTube's Terms of Service & Privacy Policy