Sign up & get $1 to try select services free
How To Delete A TikTok Story In A Few Quick Steps 2024
|
November 30th, 2023 by Terri Pinyerd

Learn how to delete a Story on TikTok in just a few quick steps so you can curate your TikTok Stories, plus how to view someone else's Story and report a Story that features inappropriate or stolen content.

 

NOTE: As of the publication date of this post, TikTok has reportedly removed the Stories feature for many accounts. If you do not see the Stories feature on your TikTok account, this is likely why.

 

How To Post A Story On TikTok

 

tiktok post story

 

To post Stories on TikTok, you'll need to be logged into the TikTok app on your mobile device or tablet.

 

Once logged in, you can either tap the + sign that appears at the bottom of the screen or access your TikTok account profile page and tap the blue + sign that appears beneath your profile picture.

 

Select the content from your camera roll or record new content within the app. You can add filters, stickers, music and more.

 

Once you're finished, tap Your Story to the left of the red Next button.

 

How To Delete A Story On TikTok

 

tiktok delete story

 

Whether you've posted too many stories or just have some changes to make, you can easily delete stories within the TikTok app. Keep in mind that you cannot view deleted Stories once the deletion has been confirmed.

 

To delete your TikTok Story, you'll first need to access your Stories from within the TikTok app on your mobile device or tablet. To do this, visit your TikTok profile and tap your profile picture to access the Stories feature.

 

From your Story post, tap the three dots on the bottom right of the screen.

 

Tap Delete and follow the instructions on the pop up message.

 

NOTE: There is no way to undo a Story deletion or access deleted Stories, so be careful!

 

How To View Someone's Story On TikTok

 

tiktok view someone's story

 

You can view another user's Stories by tapping on the user's avatar or profile icon when a blue ring appears around it.

 

If there is no blue ring around a user's TikTok app icon, then they have not yet posted a Story.

 

Stories will also appear as a TikTok video in the For You Page. Just like regular TikTok videos, other users have the ability to engage with and comment on a Story.

 

How To Report A Story On TikTok

 

If you come across a Story that violates TikTok's Community Guidelines, you can report it just like you would with any other posted video.

 

To do so, tap the Share icon on the right side of the screen.

 

Tap Report on the bottom row of icons and follow the on-screen prompts to complete your report.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

How many Stories can you post on TikTok at a time?

While there is no official limit to the number of Stories you can post on TikTok at once, each individual Story has a time limit of 15 seconds.

How long do TikTok Stories last?

Just like the Instagram Story feature, TikTok Stories last 24 hours before they are automatically deleted. However, unlike Instagram there is no Highlight feature to keep expired Stories featured on your profile after 24 hours have passed.

Are TikTok Stories permanently deleted after they expire?

No, once a TikTok Story has expired you can access it in your archives by following the steps below:

Visit your TikTok profile page.

Tap the Lock icon tab.

You will then be able to access all archived Stories.

Can you set TikTok Stories to private?

Yes, before posting your Story tap the gear icon on the top right corner and choose our privacy setting from the following: Everyone, Friends, Only Me.

By default the privacy setting for public accounts is Everyone, so be sure to adjust it each time you post if you'd rather limit the audience. However, if you have a private account then the default audience will be your Friends.

Why can't I post a Story on TikTok? Did TikTok delete Stories?

TikTok has reportedly begun removing the TikTok Stories feature for certain users. If you do not see the blue plus sign below your profile picture, or if you don't have the option to save an image as a Story, then your account was likely affected by this update.

Certain users are reporting that the feature has been returned to them after a day or two, so it's likely that TikTok is simply testing the possibility before removing the feature altogether.

Live Chat

QQTube AI Chat Bot

Have a question or issue? Just ask below!

Want $1 Free?
Sign Up to get $1 to increase your social media followers, likes, views, subscribers & more!
By signing up, you agree to QQTube's Terms of Service & Privacy Policy